Source book

The Nuclear Culture Source Book


25 × 18 cm | 7 × 10 in
110 ills | 208 pages

Editor: Ele Carpenter
Contributing writers: Peter C van Wyck, Gabrielle Hecht, Timothy Morton, Jahnavi Phalkey, Noi Sawaragi, Eiko Honda, Susan Schuppli, Victor Gama, Di McDonald, Nicola Triscott

The Nuclear Culture Source Book is a resource and introduction to nuclear culture—one of the most urgent themes within contemporary art and society—charting the ways in which art and philosophy contribute to a cultural understanding of the nuclear.

The book brings together contemporary art and ideas investigating the nuclear Anthropocene, nuclear sites and materiality, along with important questions of radiological inheritance, nuclear modernity and the philosophical concept of radiation as a hyperobject.

Building on four years of research into nuclear culture by the book’s editor, Ele Carpenter, The Nuclear Culture Source Book features contributions by over 60 artists including Lise Autogena, Erich Berger and Mari Keto, Chim↑Pom, Thomson & Craighead, Nick Crowe and Ian Rawlinson, Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani, Helen Grove-White, Isao Hashimoto, Hilda Hellström, Cornelia Hesse-Honegger, Martin Howse, Pierre Huyghe, Yoi Kawakubo, Yves Klein, Erika Kobayashi, Karen Kramer, Eva and Franco Mattes, Yoshinori Niwa, Uriel Orlow, Trevor Paglen, Yelena Popova, Susan Schuppli, Taryn Simon, smudge studio, Shimpei Takeda, Kota Takeuchi, Mika Taanila, Suzanne Treister, Mark Aerial Waller, Andy Weir, Jane and Louise Wilson, Louise K Wilson and Ken + Julia Yonetani.